Greek Yogurt

Greek yogurt is one of my favorite foods for several reasons. Greek yogurt is high in protein compared to other yogurts and can be used in so many ways. I use it as a substitute to mayonnaise in my cooking, and as a substitute/addition in my baking, and in my smoothies. It also makes a delicious snack or the perfect base for a creative dessert.

Personally, I always use nonfat Greek yogurt. I also always buy mine plain because it allows for creative mixtures that aren’t high in sugar. I do like flavored Greek yogurts, but have you ever noticed that most are 19-24grams of sugar per serving?

My husband got me into eating my Greek yogurt mixed with a tablespoon of peanut butter! Absolutely delicious and perfect as a between meal snack. Sometimes, I like to make a smaller serving of his concoction and use it as a dip for my apple. As dessert, we also love an idea we got from Pinterest called “cookie dough Greek yogurt”. It’s really delicious! We’ve gotten creative with the add-ins and make it a perfect summer treat by putting it in the freezer for about 30-45 mins before indulging in our guilt free dessert!

20130520-182632.jpg
Greek yogurt, a tablespoon of peanut butter, some vanilla extract, sweetener to taste, and some chocolate chips.

If you haven’t tried this already, you should!!!